first issues > countries > filename

Leeward Islands

31st August 1890

British colony 48

Lewward Islands Sc1 to Sc8
  Sc1-8 xxx

perf 14, Crown CA wmk, typo
Printed by De La Rue, London

Description   Scott SG Mi Y&T  
½ penny lilac and green   1 1      
1d lilac and carmine   2 2      
2½d lilac and ultra   3 3      
4d lilac and orange   4 4      
6d lilac and brown   5 5      
7d lilac and slate   6 6      
1 shilling green and carmine   7 7      
5/- green and ultra   8 8      

The Leeward Islands comprised Antigua, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Montserrat and St. Kitts-Nevis. The constituents issued stamps in their own names prior to this 1890 issue and again from 1903. The federal union was dissolved in July 1956 when the larger West Indies Federation was conceived.

Sources: ScS, SGP1.

Image from ebay.

FI ref: 265 Page credit: NB

Page created 12 Jan 2017 Page updated 16-Jun-2017