Penny Black First Issues Collectors Club of stamps and philatelic material

Home - Catalog - Categories - Index - Journal - Exhibits - Auctions - Forgeries - Join

first issues > countries > oil rivers, niger coast protectorates

Oil Rivers Protectorate

Niger Coast Protectorate

20th July 1892

British Colony 50

Oil Rivers 1 to 6
  Sc1-6 xxx

perf 14, crown wmk
Printed by De La Rue

Description   Scott SG Mi Y&T  
GB overprints
½ penny vermilion   1 1      
1d lilac   2 2      
2d grey-green and carmine   3 3      
2½d purple, blue   4 4      
5d dull puple and blue   5 5      
1 shilling dull green   6 6      
Niger Coast SG45
Niger Coast Protectorate
1894 Sc37 SG45

To paraphrase Scott [1] , The Oil Rivers Protectorate, was administered by the British Royal Niger Company. It surrendered its charter to the Crown in 1899 and in 1900 all its territories were incorporated into Northern and Southern Nigeria, the latter absorbing the area formerly known as Niger Coast

The Oil Rivers Protectorate was extended inland and the name changed to Niger Coast Protectorate in May 1893. The first stamps issued in the new name were overprinted "NIGER COAST" and "OIL RIVERS" obliterated.

Sources: ScS, SGP1.

Image from David Olson, ebay.

FI ref: 280 Page credit: NB

Page created 14 Jan 2016 Page updated 22-Jul-2017