Penny Black First Issues Collectors Club of stamps and philatelic material

Home - Catalog - Categories - Index - Journal - Exhibits - Auctions - Forgeries - Join

first issues > countries > nyasaland protectorate, malawi

Nyasaland Protectorate
and Malawi

22nd July 1908

British Colony 63

Africa 32

  1908 Sc1 SG72 FICC#402 Sc2 SG73 xxx

perf 14, typo

Description   Scott SG Mi Y&T  
wmk crown and CA, chalky paper
1 shilling black, green   1 72      
wmk multiple crown and CA, ordinary paper
½ penny green   2 73      
1d carmine   3 74      
wmk multiple crown and CA, chalky paper
3d violet, yellow   4 75      
4d scarlet and black, yellow   5 76      
6d red violet and violet   6 77      
2/6 carmine and black, blue   7 78      
4/- black and carmine   8 79      
10/- red and green, green   9 80      
£1 black and violet, red   10 81      
£10 ultra and lilac   11 82      

Scott [1] begins a new listing for Nyasaland but Gibbons lists British Central Africa overprints SG1-SG71 first, thus Sc1 = SG71. Scott lists the BCA overprints as a separate entry under British Central Africa.

6th July 1964 Sc1 SG211

The British South Africa Company administered the territory which eventually became Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The full history is given on the British Central Africa page and see also the StampWorldHistory schematic.

So far as this area is concerned, formerly part of British Central Africa, administered by the British South Africa Company, in 1907 it became the Nyasaland Protectorate until it joined the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland in 1954. After the Federation broke up in 1963, it became the independent state of Malawi.

While Scott lists Malawi from #1, Gibbons continues sequentially from Nyasaland SG1-SG210.

Sources: ScS [1], SGP1 [2].

Images from colnect.

FI ref: 402, 681 Page credit: NB

Page created 25 Oct 2016 Page updated 14-Jun-2017