first issues > countries > trinidad & tobago

Trinidad & Tobago

1st January 1913

British colony 67
Caribbean 20

Trinidad & Tobago
  Sc1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 xxx

perf 14, wmk multiple crown CA, typo
Printed by De La Rue, London

Description   Scott SG Mi Y&T  
Ordinary Paper
½ penny green   1 149      
1d scarlet   2 150      
1d carmine   2a 150c      
2½d ultra   4        
Chalky Paper
4d scarlet and black, yellow   5 152a      
6d red violet and dull violet   6 153      
1 shilling black, emerald   7 154c      
1/- black, green   7a 154      
1/- black, blue green, olive back   7b 154b      

There is no Sc3.
Gibbons numbers the stamps of Trinidad (SG1-148) separately from Tobago (SG1-33) then continues T&T on from SG149. Gibbons also lists more shades and paper variants than Scott

The colonies of Trinidad and Tobago were united from 1889 and 1899, then Trinidad stamps were used until 1913. The islands became independent within the Commonwealth in 1962.

T&T independence
1962 Sc105-109 SG300-304

Sources: ScS, SGP1, SGS.

Images from ebay.

FI ref: 442 Page credit: NB

Page created 13 May 2017 Page updated 19-Aug-2017